Members / Academicians
Ashot S. Saghyan
Specialization: Biotechnology, Bioorganic Chemistry
Place of birth: village Chapar (Mardakert region NKR)
Date of birth: 07/04/1957
Membership: Academician
Address: 14 Gyurjyan Str., 0056 Yerevan, Armenia
Phone number: (+374 10) 527031, (+374 10) 654183
Fax: (+374 10) 569281
E-mail: ashot.saghyan {[ at ]}, president {[ at ]}

Graduated from YSU (1978), Ph.D. of chemistry (1985). Doctor of chemical sciences (1997), Prof. (2003), Corr. Member (2006), Acad. (2010)


Director of the Scientific and Production Center "Armbiotechnology" NAS RA (2010), Head of Pharmacy Department YSU (2002), Editor-in-chief of the "Chemical Journal of Armenia" (2008), Representative of NAS RA in the Coordination Board of ISTC, Member of the Presidium of NAS RA (since 2016), The President of the National Academy of Sciences of Armenia (since 2021)

Membership of other Organizations

Full Member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, Member of the International Academy of Ecology, Member of Biotechnology Association of China, Foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (2022)


European "Descartes Prize" (2001), "Award of Friendship", "Tien-Shan" prize (2002), President's Prize of RA (2004), President’s Prize of RA (2011)